The Southeastern Conference has officially announced the 2020 college football season will consist of 10 conference-only games starting on September 26.

This means the SEC will shed all non-conference games and start the season three weeks later than originally scheduled. For Kentucky, their matchups with Louisville, Eastern Michigan, Eastern Illinois and Kent State will be canceled.

“I’m glad there is a plan in place so we can move forward with preparations for the season,” UK head coach Mark Stoops said in a statement. “I understand and support the decision to begin on September 26. Everyone would like to play a full schedule, including our rivalry game with Louisville, but this timing and format gives us our best opportunity to adjust to these unique circumstances.”

It was originally reported by Ross Dellenger of Sports Illustrated that the two added conference games would be each teams’ 2021 and 2022 cross-divisional opponents. Now he has updated his report to indicate the SEC will use a “separate scheduling model – composed by the league office using strength of schedule” to determine the two additional opponents for 2020.

Dellenger also reports that many are not in favor of disrupting their 2021 and 2022 schedules, which means Kentucky will likely not face LSU at Kroger Field (2021) or Ole Miss in Oxford (2022). An updated schedule for the 2020 season has yet to be released.

At this time, there is no word on whether fans will be allowed to attend games in any capacity.

Kentucky Football cracks Phil Steele’s preseason top 25, brings back C.J. Conrad as grad assistant

Facebook Comments